Bachelorette-ing

Jan11_3

“I’m not looking for anything serious.”

Every straight female who’s tried dating has probably heard that oh-so-clichéd line at least once, from the mouth of a loser guy trying to defend his disrespectful behavior. Apparently, saying that line to a female makes a guy think it’s now acceptable to treat her like nothing more than an unpaid prostitute. While I see nothing wrong whatsoever with sex or being a legitimate sex worker, if I wanted a guy to ask me to drive to his place, suck his dick and get rudely kicked out without even a goodbye or some small talk, I’d be advertising my “services” on Craigslist.

I know damn well that I deserve better treatment than that, hence why I’m not afraid to stand up for myself and show off with “big words” when these guys target me. I know I have a lot to offer and I won’t accept anything less than a guy who shares all my values. Once I find that guy, I will fight hard to keep him around but until then, dating will remain nothing more than a social activity for me. My career is my number one priority and it can be a huge time commitment, so the thought of wasting too much time on the wrong guy terrifies me, especially since I’ve made that mistake once before.

In a typical week, I may text and make weekend plans with multiple guys to avoid investing too heavily in one, until I know he’s truly worth it (which hasn’t happened in a long time.) I’m not someone who constantly needs a boyfriend and I’d much rather be single then be in an unfulfilling relationship. Some may consider me a player or hardcore Bachelorette, however I try hard to treat each guy kindly and I wouldn’t waste my time if I weren’t attracted to them and interested in getting to know them better. I believe the wrong guys will naturally weed themselves out and the right guy will naturally rise to the top but until then, I guess I’m not looking for anything serious.

-Black parka: Calvin Klein outerwear

-Black sunglasses: Marc by Marc Jacobs

-Black gloves: Target

-Turquoise bag: Ralph Lauren

-White Tshirt: H&M

-Blue leggings: Lululemon

-Black sneakers: Aldo

Leave a Reply

